Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/papworthhospital/public_html/latestnews/index.php:110) in /home/papworthhospital/public_html/config_inc.php on line 14
Home  Home | Contact us | How to find us | News | Accessibility
A member of Cambridge University Health Partners - www.cuhp.org.uk


« Back

29 March 2018

Royal Papworth 100 Staff Awards

It was a fantastic night celebrating the amazing work of our staff at the Royal Papworth 100 Staff Awards!

The special ceremony - in honour of 100 years of the hospital - took place last night at the Papworth Village Hall. The evening began with hosts Stephen Posey and Oonagh Monkhouse reflecting on some of the hospital's achievements over the last year.

Chairman Professor John Wallwork then took to the stage to read a letter specially written for Royal Papworth from the Duchess of Gloucester, before all the award winners were announced.

A special video was shown as tribute to the Volunteer's Lifetime Achievement Award winner Janet Atkins, as a thank you for all of her hard work and commitment to the hospital.

Yvonne Inglis, who won the Lifetime Achievement Award, was the daughter of one of the hospital's early Tuberculosis patients. She joined the hospital at the age of 15 in the hospital's supplies office before going on to complete her training as a Medical Secretary.

"It was wonderful to win the Lifetime Achievement Award," said Yvonne. "Having been born in the village and been part of the hospital for so long, it was a lovely way to mark the last stage of my career here." She plans to retire later this year but hopes to do some temporary work in September to help us during our move.

The evening came to a close after guests were given an exclusive preview of the trailer for the upcoming Royal Papworth Hospital documentary.

A huge thank you to all of our sponsors - Troup Bywaters + Anders, OCS Group UK, CPL Healthcare and Royal Papworth Hospital Charity - for supporting the event, and to everyone who came and helped us celebrate.

Congratulations to all of the winners:

The Care and Compassion Award (Nurse) - Racheal McMillan

The Care and Compassion Award (Doctor) - Dr Mike Harrison

The Care and Compassion Award (Healthcare Assistant) - Emma Hart

The Care and Compassion Award (Healthcare Scientist) - Samantha Cullen

The Care and Compassion Award (Professional Support Services) - Penny Martin

The Care and Compassion Award (Non-Clinical) - Rosie Ashwell

The Learning and Development Award - Katie Hodge

The Change Champion of the Year Award - Felicity Fuller

Working in Partnership Award - Dr Patrick Calvert

The Student or Apprentice of the Year Award - Graham Thomson

The Outstanding Leader Award - Julie Bracken

The Team of the Year Award - Cardiac Day Ward

The Volunteer's Lifetime Achievement Award - Janet Atkins

The Outstanding Contribution to Excellence and Innovation in Cardiothoracic Medicine Award - Dr Robert Rintoul

The Lifetime Achievement Award - Yvonne Inglis

Photos from the night can be found on the Royal Papworth Hospital Facebook page.