Royal Papworth Hospital is committed to supporting the Equality Delivery System (EDS) launched by the Department of Health, which has replaced the Papworth Single Equality Scheme.

What is the Equality Delivery System?

First introduced in November 2011 and re-launched as EDS2 in 2013,  the EDS is designed to support NHS commissioners and providers to deliver better outcomes for patients and communities. It also aims to deliver more personal, fairer and more diverse working environments for staff. The EDS is all about making positive differences to healthy living and working lives.

The EDS is a tool for NHS organisations – in partnership with patients, the public, staff and staff-side organisations - to use to review their equality performance and to identify future priorities and actions. It offers local and national reporting and accountability mechanisms.

At the heart of the EDS is a set of 18 outcomes grouped into four goals. These outcomes focus on the issues of most concern to patients, carers, communities, NHS staff and Boards. It is against these outcomes that performance is analysed, graded and action determined.

The four EDS goals are:

  • Better health outcomes for all
  • Improved patient access and experience
  • Empowered, engaged and included staff
  • Inclusive leadership at all levels

The grades are as follows:

  • Excelling (purple)
  • Achieving (green)
  • Developing (amber)
  • Underdeveloped (red)

What does the EDS cover?

The EDS covers all those people with characteristics protected by the Equality Act 2010. There are nine characteristics in total.

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender re-assignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race including nationality and ethnicity
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

Evidence was gathered against each of the 18 outcomes; this was reviewed and graded by a range of local stakeholders and staff. Below you can find information for 2016/17.

Workforce Race Equality Standard (WRES)

The WRES was introduced into the NHS in April 2015 to tackle the ‘…consistently less favourable treatment of the Black and Ethnic Minority (BME) workforce...’.  Its main purpose is to help NHS organisations, locally and nationally, to review their data against nine WRES indicators, to produce action plans to close gaps in workplace experience between White and Black Ethnic Minority (BME) staff, and to improve BME representation at Board level in organisations.

The first report for Royal Papworth Hospital was completed in July 2015 and establishes the baseline data against which progress can be measured.  Subsequent WRES reports will be produced annually.

Workforce Disability Equality Standard (WDES)

The Workforce Disability Equality Standard (WDES) is mandated by the NHS Standard Contract and will apply to all NHS Trusts and Foundation Trusts from April 2020. The WDES is a data-based standard that uses a series of measures (Metrics) to improve the experiences of Disabled staff in the NHS.

Public Sector Equality Duties (PSED)

The following documents feature staff data which is provided on an annual basis to the staff and public.